Solitude-In my thoughts

To often in my solitude I saw visions of you; us, we. And these feelings cloud me like gray skies hanging above. Tempted to hear your voice, remembrance of your touch. I don’t think you know how much I miss you. My days grew shorter and my nights longer, it seems like every time I closed my eyes there you were. I tried to sleep longer, searching for your warmth because if I only have you in my dreams, then I’m hoping tomorrow doesn’t come. I didn’t realize how much I loved you till you were gone, now every time I turn on the radio its nothing but sad love songs. And I’m reminded of you. My ego has me hesitant to pick up the phone and tell you to come back. They say home is where the heart is but mines left, and I won’t be whole again until it returns along with you. Silent cries blanet these white sheets, reminiscent of you holding me, and that feeling I got when your hands palmed my cheeks or the way you looked at me. I imagined our future differently, a couple kids and those picket fences, spending our nights at 3am in kitchen; you know when you couldn’t sleep and needed me to listen. This shit isn’t what I envisioned, just my thoughts of you; now poetry written.
-Valerie Rene’a

Author: Valerie Rene'a

Author of Naked Tales and Hidden Desires

Leave a Reply

