Letter to him

Letter to him… I know a lot of time has passed since we last spoke. I had a habit of letting the past interfere with our present, now look at what we’re left with. I let my stubbornness get in the way, my ego came into play. I was afraid of rejection, afraid to speak up, afraid to right the wrongs between us. You meant more to me than I was willing to admit, it pained me to watch you walk out the door with all your belongings. I wanted to call out to you but the words never formed between my lips. I was taught if you loved something let it go and if it returned then it was meant to be, that’s bullshit. I should’ve fought harder because of what you meant to me. I got this pen in my hand and this pad on my knees replaying our moments together from my memory. I remember how we use to laugh together, how we motivate one another,  and how we could sit in silence and still feel so much pleasure. I love you. I realize now that I took for granted what I had because I couldn’t imagine I’d ever lose something that mattered. I was a fool and here I am hoping that this letter finds you…Soon!
Valerie Rene’a
#valerierene’a

#poetry #love #blackart #blackwriters #blacklove #blessed #poet #poem #yourfavoritepoet #art #artist #author #yourfavoriteauthor #queen #king #mental #appealing #Amazon #newread #poetrycorner #mustread #doubletap #blackauthors #spokenword #hiddendesires #newbook #newrelease #mustread

Author: Valerie Rene'a

Author of Naked Tales and Hidden Desires

Leave a Reply

