Love adorned

I love him

I love him as if he were tailored to my being, as if I was blind and he were my eyes that I could now see with, a love I didn’t have to compete with.

I love the way his hands would gather my every imperfection that cover my body, lift them up and praise them highly.

To me he was Godly

He, being the Black Man that he is

the one that was born with statics stacked against him

Yet he never submitted

He was gifted and I, I was blessed

I was blessed that we were a chosen force to be reckoned with

We were a team that built a foundation , that manifested our dreams

And

It didn’t take long for them to become reality

We had an understanding

We would always become a better us

no matter how the odds stacked

there would be no giving up

We were considered the minority

born in fields of cotton

prone to failing

But they failed to see

The

Strength in our tears

The fight in our lashes

The courage in our songs

The royalty in our skin

And no matter how far He may fall that I will be there next to him

helping him get back up

Because a God always rises before us

I love him

Even more now than

Then… Forever us!

-Valerie Rene’a

Author: Valerie Rene'a

Author of Naked Tales and Hidden Desires

Leave a Reply

